## Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education Proceedings

## November 13, 2023

The regular meeting of the Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education was held on the above date at the Educational Service Center. President, Chad Prieve, called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Isaac Dornfeld, Marge Jorgensen, John Kraus, Jr., Mary Kuntz, Lisa Panzer, Chad Prieve, Gary Spielman, and Joanne Tyjeski. Board members absent: Maria Mason.

Mr. Prieve led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Jorgensen moved, Spielman seconded, to approve the minutes from the regular meeting on October 23, 2023, and special meeting on October 23, 2023, as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Prieve welcomed visitors.

Kraus moved, Jorgensen seconded, to adopt the agenda as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mrs. Jansma, Wilson Elementary School Principal, presented the School of the Month report for Wilson Elementary School. She reported on their School Success Plan, action steps, and professional learning community goals. She also shared information on school activities and initiatives. Mr. Ewing, Curriculum & Instruction Coach, reported on the teacher collaboration efforts.

Jorgensen moved, Kraus seconded, that the Beaver Dam Unified School District request to have the ability to start the 2024-2025 School Year on the 27th day of August, 2024, due to major construction projects occurring within the district.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. DiStefano, Superintendent, clarified the district is committed to construction in the Summer of 2025 specific to Washington Elementary School to transition the students from Wilson Elementary School to Washington Elementary School.

Mr. DiStefano reported the Board of Education conducted a public hearing to consider beginning the 2024-2025 school year on August 27, 2024. He explained that other than the earlier start date, the school year calendar is a traditional one.

Tyjeksi moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the presented 2024-2025 early start waiver school calendar.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Cashman, Director of Business Services, presented a donation for acceptance in the amount of \$34,510.60 from the Brouillard Revocable Trust in honor of Rich Brouillard, retired administrator, to be used for dental and eye care assistance for Middle School students eligible for free or reduced lunch.

Tyjeski moved, Kuntz seconded, to accept the donation as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Ms. Espinoza, High School Student Representative, reported on student organization activities and events.

Ms. Jorgensen, Board Clerk, announced there are three seats up for election on April 2, 2024. The incumbents are John Kraus, Jr., Gary Spielman, and herself. If any of the incumbents do not intend to run for re-election, they need to file non-candidacy papers by 5:00 p.m. on December 22, 2023. Incumbents and any members of the public seeking election need to file candidacy papers by 5:00 p.m. on January 2, 2024.

Mr. Prieve reported that the Operations and Teaching & Learning Committees did not meet since the last board meeting and the next meetings are scheduled for January 22, 2024. He announced there will be a board workshop on November 20, 2023.

Board members shared the engagement opportunities they participated in.

Board members offered appreciation to staff and students for gathering donations for the annual district food drive.

Mr. DiStefano recognized all the work involved with the Sekel Scrimmage and thanked Middle School and Washington Elementary School staff for their engagement with architects and being part of the facility planning process.

Panzer moved, Kraus seconded, to approve the following retirement/resignation: Kelly Braker-Special Education Teacher-Jefferson Elementary School (Retirement effective 9/10/24); and Peter Woreck-District Facilities and Safety Officer-District (Resignation effective 12/15/23).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Kraus seconded, to approve the following appointment: Julie LaBorde-Grade 5 Teacher-Washington Elementary School (LTS beginning 11/21/23).

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Jorgensen, Kraus, Kuntz, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, and Dornfeld. Nay-None.

Mr. DiStefano presented policy revisions and new policies recommended by NEOLA for adoption.

Kraus moved, Jorgensen seconded, to adopt the board policy updates as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the payment of financial claims (Voucher #540, #541, and #542) for District Credit Card, ACH File, District Insurances, Net Payroll, Payroll Taxes, WEA Trust Advantage, American Funds, Ameriprise, AXA, AXA Roth, Fidelity, Franklin, Health Savings Account, Met Life, Sec Benefit Life, Thrivent, WEA TSA, and Payroll Related Voucher for a total of \$2,130,744.37. (A listing of these vouchers can be found in the Accounts Payable Check Register.)

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kraus, Kuntz, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, and Jorgensen. Nay-None.

Jorgensen moved, Tyjeski seconded, to adjourn the meeting.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote and the meeting was adjourned at 7:18 p.m.

/s/ Chad Prieve, President

/s/ Marge Jorgensen, Clerk